Music is life

This is my fight song. Take back my life song. Prove I’m alright song. My power’s turned on, starting right now I’ll be strong, I’ll play my fight song and I don’t really care if nobody else believes. ‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me.

Rachel Platten

I have recently found myself addicted to America’s Got Talent and last week I stumbled on an audition that was so moving it led me to tears. I have since then re-watched it a couple (okay, slightly more than a couple) of times. Everything in that performance was awe-inspiring, but what really caught my attention was the message in the song (if you haven’t watched it, find the link below). Here’s this stunning (she really is beautiful) 16-year old cancer survivor who has more fight in her than most of us much older than her only dream of. She still has the grace and the innocence of a kid even after going through what could possibly be the most difficult time of her life. I hate to imagine what would happen to me if I were in her shoes; I don’t know if I would have come out on the other side all rosy, full of life and ready to tackle anything and everything. I think most of us would have drowned in a sea of self-pity, and come out of it as shells of the people we once were.

This young girl is just another reason why we should not take for granted the good health we have been granted. She is also proof that God never puts us in situations we can’t conquer. I believe that there is a reason for everything we go through and her’s was so that she could come out of it stronger and give hope to many of those like her who are going through or have gone through similar ordeals.

In her confessional, Calysta says she chose that specific song because it is her anthem; it is the song that gave her hope and got her through the challenging times. Sometimes the only thing you need to get through a rough patch is the right music, it could be the rhythm, the melody or just the lyrics, but somehow they speak to the soul and make it a lot better.

I believe that music has a way of speaking to the soul, in that even when words fail music speaks. I have a playlist for every one of my moods. I basically live my life in music, with a theme song to every emotion and every situation.  Music is and has always been my therapy; it always helps when nothing else seems to work. Someone once said it is a communication far more powerful than words, far more immediate and far more efficient. Sometimes locking myself up in a room and listening to music feels much better than discussing my problems with anyone. Music gets me.

“Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.”

Maya Angelou

 

Cheers

XoXo

Girl About Town

 

Featured Image

 

Leave a Reply

