Of prejudiced exposé’s

I watched the exposé that KTN’s Mohammed Ali did on Jacob Juma’s murder mystery and all I could think about was ‘what was the aim of that piece?’ I remember just sitting there feeling disappointed and most importantly angry. The feminist in me had her blood boiling and her skin crawling. She couldn’t understand why Mohamed decided to blur every person’s face in the exposé but Cheryl’s. Was it because she was female? That was the only reason I could come up with. Even the cab driver and the other ‘askari’s’ had their faces blurred. Why is it that he did not do the same with this young girl? Don’t get me wrong, I am not defending what she is PERCEIVED to have been doing with Juma, I am just wondering WHY she wasn’t treated with the same decency that the MEN in the story enjoyed. Was the story about her? I just couldn’t understand Moha’s agenda.

I tried putting into words what I was feeling after I watched the story on Monday but all I could come up with was an article riddled with cuss words and profanities. I kept re-writing the article but the more I spent time with it the more annoyed I got; this is until I woke today to Carol Mutoko’s response to the exposé. I couldn’t have said it better. She just has a way with words and her eloquence is to die for. In case you haven’t had a chance to watch it, here it is…

 Cheers.

XoXo

Girl About Town

 

Featured Image

Leave a Reply

